Marion County Fire District #1 hosted its annual Awards Banquet for personnel on February 21. More than 100 emergency personnel and their families attended the event.

Chief Kyle McMann says that the banquet is held every year to honor exceptional service to citizens in the Fire District’s service area. Marion County Fire District #1 provides fire and emergency medical services to 50,000 people over 80 square miles. It currently serves the communities of Four Corners, Middle Grove, Pratum, Macleay, Brooklake, Clearlake, Labish Center, and Chemeketa College Station.

“We are fortunate to have such dedicated individuals,” said Chief McMann. “Our personnel make real sacrifices in this line of work, and I feel extremely lucky to be part of this team.”

More than 100 career and volunteer emergency personnel responded to 8,026 emergency calls in 2019, a 5.3 percent increase over the previous year. Firefighters and EMS personnel went through 10,557 hours of training and participated in 42 community events to share life safety information with the public. The Fire District presented awards to the following individuals:

Years of Service

5 Years:                Matt Bentz, Josh Darland, Chris Herring, Eli Kass, Chase Redman, and Nick Sines

10 Years:             Seth Barnett, Anita DeVilliers, Ryan Stocks, and Scott Wildfang

15 Years:             Mike Anderson and Mark Ramsdell

20 Years:             Brian Cottings

25 Years:             James Mulhern

40 Years:             Ron Rosgen

50 Years:             Wayne Weaver and Wayne Miller

55 Years:             Bob Gerig


Volunteer Rookie of the Year – Jerold Martin

Career Rookie of the Year – Morgan Whaley

Volunteer EMT/Paramedic – Mitchell Wilson

Career EMT/Paramedic of the Year – Alisha Dodson

Volunteer Commitment to Public Education – Support Services Division

Commitment to Public Education – Paula Smith

Volunteer Excellence in Training – Kyle Milks


Career Excellence in Training                               Chief’s Outstanding Achievement Award   

Mike Tinker                                                                       Makenzie Hofmann


Volunteer FF of the Year – David Leja

Career FF of the Year – Matthew Bentz

Foxtail Award – Station #2 (Middle Grove)

Employee of the Year – Crystal Wooldridge


Hall of Fame Award

Division Chief Paula Smith